Lab Members

All Hartley Lab members are passionate about their work, but they also enjoy a life outside of academics. Read their bios and get to know them better.

Dr. Meredith Hartley
Assistant Professor
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Advisor: Barbara Imperiali
Postdoc, Oregon Heath and Science University Advisor: Thomas Scanlan
AB Dartmouth College
hartley@ku.edu
Fueled by iced tea and dark chocolate
Nishama De Silva Mohotti (she/her/hers)
Graduate Research Assistant.
B.Sc. Chemistry University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka.
nishama@ku.edu
If allowed an unlimited supply of anything it would be french fries.
Matt Zupan (he/him/his)
Graduate Research Assistant
B.Sc. Bio-Organic Chemistry McGill University
matthew.zupan@ku.edu
Only waters his plants when procrastinating
Rashmi Binjawadagi (she/her/hers)
Graduate Research Assistant
B.Sc degree from Karanataka University
MS Chemistry University of Akron
Loves listening to Carnatic music
Jenna Williams (sher/her/hers)
B.Sc. Chemistry Missouri State University
Graduate Research Assistant
williams468@ku.edu
Priorities include, but are not limited to, cats and oat milk
Disni Dedunupitiya (She/Her/Hers)
B.Sc. Chemistry, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
Graduate Teaching/Research Assistant
disni.dedunupitiya@ku.edu
Dancing  keeps her sane
Ziyu Zhu (he/him/his)
B.Sc. Biological Chemistry, Hubei University, Wuhan, China
Graduate Research Assistant
Cat dad, professional foodie, and amateur cyclist
ziyuzh@ku.edu
Michel Evertsen
B.S in Biochemistry, Grand View University
REU scholar
michel.evertsen@grandview.edu
Hobbies include snoozing his alarm
Hiroko Kobayashi (prefers use of name)
Human Bio, Behavioral Neuro, and Human Sexuality
Research Technician
kobayashi.h@ku.edu
Practices the art of paper-cutting to prepare for future surgeries
Ilia Parish (she/her/hers)
BS Biochemistry
Undergraduate Research Assistant
ilia.parish19@gmail.com
Loves to read, work on her art, and eat nan bread
Ethan Christ (he/him/his)
BS Biochemistry and Anthropology
Undergraduate Research Assistant
egchrist@ku.edu
Is president of every club on KU campus
Elanie Vanderweide
BS Chemistry
Undergraduate Research Assistant
elanie_jo@ku.edu
CEO of Procrastination


Katie Van Beber (she/her/hers)
BS Biochemistry with Spanish minor
Undergraduate Research Assistant
katievanbeber@hotmail.com
Slight obsession with Squishmallows
Becca Jones (she/her/hers)
BS Behavioral Neuroscience and Chemistry
Undergraduate Research Assistant
rjones8714@gmail.com
Dreams of unlimited chips and queso
Liz Arends (she/her/hers)
BA Biochemistry and Spanish
Undergraduate Research Assistant/website creator
lizarends21@ku.edu
Willing to debate the 9th episode of Star Wars was the best one